icono News

Presentation of the 5th Isdefe Antonio Torres DESEi+D R&D Award

Presentation of the 5th Isdefe Antonio Torres DESEi+D R&D Award

On 26 November, as part of the closing ceremonies for the 8th National Congress on Defence and Security R&D, the 2020 Isdefe Antonio Torres DESEi+D R&D Award was presented to the winning entry, which was “Predictive maintenance of ship engines through machine learning”.

The award was presented virtually by the Director of Business Development, Mr Jesús Alonso Martín, and accepted by Mr David Novoa Paradela, of the Universidad de A Coruña’s Centre for Research on Information and Communication Technologies (CITIC), and by Mr Francisco Lamas López, the project’s technical director.

This year, 141 papers were presented, which were narrowed down to the following 10 finalists:

  • Predictive maintenance of ship engines through machine learning.
  • Identifying biological warfare agents through immunobiosensing of exoproteins produced by the type-2 bacterial secretion system.
  • Results of the first Spanish IOD observation mission with sub-metre resolution at the International Space Station.
  • Analysis of the sentiments produced by the Spanish Armed Forces on social media.
  • Improving the management of advanced operations bases using IoT systems.
  • Epidemiological models: Estimators based on incomplete information.
  • Efficient visual navigation applied to unmanned aerial systems in GNSS-denied environments.
  • Physical training and operating efficiency in parachuting units.
  • Modelling explosive charges to design hardened structures using simulation.
  • The influence of surface emissivity on measuring the glass transition temperature in the dynamic-mechanical analysis of solid propellants.


Jesús Alonso acknowledged the great challenge overcome in this year’s DESEi+D, which “transformed the current situation into an opportunity, allowing the national Security and Defence scientific community to meet over the course of three days to share its know-how and experience”, noting the quality and depth of the papers presented “despite the current adversity and the shortened deadlines compared to previous editions”.

He also thanked the jury for its efforts. The jury consisted of six members from the University Centres for Defence of Zaragoza, Marín and San Javier, one member from the Ministry of Defence’s Subdirectorate-General for Planning, Technology and Innovation, and one member from Isdefe.